TL;DR
Get furniture and decor delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Ideal Home’s renovation editor tested Morphy Richards’ 2.5kW HeatFlux digital oil-filled radiator in two rooms for two weeks. The review reports that it raised the temperature in an 18-square-metre living room by 5.2°C after two hours, while taking longer to warm a larger kitchen diner; the model has a £99.99 recommended retail price.
Ideal Home has published a two-week review of the Morphy Richards HeatFlux 2.5kW digital oil-filled radiator, finding that it warmed the reviewer’s living room while offering a digital display, remote control and timer. The report gives the heater a £99.99 recommended retail price and says it is designed for rooms of up to 25 square metres.
Ideal Home’s renovation editor tested the 2,500-watt radiator in the kitchen diner and living room of a 1970s three-bedroom home. The living room measured about 18 square metres, and the kitchen diner about 22 square metres. The reviewer said setup took less than five minutes, including attaching the wheels, and described the controls as intuitive.
In the living room, the reviewer used the heater on its high setting and reported feeling warmth from about 2.5 metres away after roughly 10 minutes. A room thermostat showed the ambient temperature had risen by almost 1°C in 10 minutes, about 3.5°C after an hour and 5.2°C after two hours. In the larger kitchen diner, the temperature rose by 2°C over two hours, although the reviewer said the room felt less cold after around 30 minutes.
The HeatFlux offers low, medium, high and eco modes, a thermostat adjustable from 5°C to 30°C, a 1-to-24-hour on/off timer and remote operation. It weighs 9.9 kilograms and measures 46.4 by 63 by 24.5 centimetres. Ideal Home lists estimated running costs of 26–66 pence per hour, but the source does not specify the assumptions behind that range. The review says the radiator comes in grey and white and has no smart features.
What the Room Tests Show
The review offers readers a practical account of how the heater performed in two different-sized rooms, rather than relying only on the manufacturer’s stated suitability for spaces up to 25 square metres. Its reported results suggest the time needed to warm a room can vary with its size: the living room gained more measured heat over two hours than the larger kitchen diner.
The product’s display, remote and timer may appeal to people seeking portable, room-by-room heating instead of heating an entire home. However, the review does not establish how much a household would save by using the radiator in place of central heating. The listed running-cost range also depends on electricity prices and usage, so it should not be read as a guaranteed bill estimate.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Portable Heater for Cooler Months
Ideal Home introduced the review as a seasonal assessment for readers preparing for cooler autumn and winter temperatures. It describes oil-filled radiators as an option for warming the room people are using, potentially avoiding the need to heat every room at once. That is the publication’s framing; the supplied review does not provide a comparison with central heating or other portable heaters.
The HeatFlux uses an electric heating element to warm oil sealed inside its radiator body. The source identifies the model as a 2.5kW oil-filled heater, but reports no smart-home connectivity or dual-function use. It says the model’s appearance is more contemporary than some other oil-filled radiators the reviewer had tested, with a digital LED display and two colour choices.
The reviewer also notes practical details from setup: wheels and bolts are included, the wheel mounts were straightforward to fit, and a CR2025 battery for the remote was not included. These observations are part of the individual test, not a broader comparison across all heaters.
What the Test Cannot Establish
The published results reflect one reviewer’s two-week test in two rooms at one home. The source does not provide the rooms’ starting temperatures, outdoor weather, insulation details, electricity tariff or a controlled comparison with another heater. It is not clear whether the reported temperature changes would be replicated in other homes or under different conditions.
The source lists estimated operating costs of 26–66 pence per hour but does not explain the calculation, tariff or settings used to produce that range. It also does not give a final overall verdict or a detailed value-for-money assessment in the material supplied here. The listed £99.99 price is the recommended retail price, not confirmation of a current sale price or stock availability.
Check Price and Heating Needs
Readers considering the HeatFlux can compare its current retail price with the £99.99 RRP and check that their room size and heating needs match the model’s stated suitability of up to 25 square metres. Before relying on the listed running-cost estimate, they would need to account for their own electricity tariff and expected hours of use.
The supplied report does not announce a follow-up test or a product update. Any later assessment would need to clarify the running-cost assumptions and how performance changes across different room conditions. Until then, the figures should be treated as results from Ideal Home’s specific test, not a guarantee of performance or savings.
Key Questions
What is the Morphy Richards HeatFlux radiator?
It is a 2.5kW digital oil-filled radiator with low, medium, high and eco settings, an adjustable thermostat, timer and remote control. Ideal Home says it is intended for rooms up to 25 square metres.
How did it perform in Ideal Home’s test?
The reviewer reported that an 18-square-metre living room was 5.2°C warmer after two hours on high. In a roughly 22-square-metre kitchen diner, the measured rise was 2°C after two hours. These are results from the reviewer’s home, not a guarantee for other rooms.
How much does the HeatFlux cost?
The review lists a £99.99 recommended retail price. It does not confirm the product’s current selling price or availability.
What does it cost to run?
Ideal Home lists estimated running costs of 26–66 pence per hour, but the supplied report does not state the electricity tariff or assumptions used. Actual costs depend on usage and the household’s electricity rate.
Does it have smart controls?
No smart features are listed. The radiator has an onboard display and touch controls, plus a remote that the reviewer said offered the same functions. The review notes that the remote’s CR2025 battery was not included.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
