Choosing among renewed Mac Studio desktops means balancing the lower-generation M1 configurations against newer chips and much larger memory options. My strongest fit for demanding work is the M3 Ultra with 256GB unified memory, while the M4 Max with 128GB offers a more measured route to heavy creative workloads. For buyers who want a clearly described renewed unit, the 2022 M1 Ultra pairs 64GB memory with a 1TB SSD, though its age and third-party renewal status deserve attention.
Get furniture and decor delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
This lineup also includes M1 Max and M5 Max configurations, but their renewed status is not equally clear from the supplied details. I rank each by the practical match between its stated hardware, likely workload, and condition information. The central tradeoff is straightforward: older renewed machines provide specified configurations and inspection terms, while newer chips bring stronger stated capabilities but less information about renewal or exact configuration. Every Mac Studio also needs a separate display and peripherals.
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The 2022 M1 Ultra is the most clearly documented renewed pick here: 64GB unified memory, a 1TB SSD, professional inspection, and a 90-day replacement or refund eligibility window.
- The M3 Ultra has the largest stated memory allocation at 256GB, making it the strongest fit for exceptionally memory-heavy professional work, though the listing gives no renewal or return-condition details.
- The M4 Max balances newer-generation capabilities with 128GB memory and a 2TB SSD; it has Thunderbolt 5, but its supplied description does not identify it as renewed.
- The 2022 M1 Max is a more modest configuration than the M1 Ultra, with 32GB memory and a 24-core GPU, so it suits lighter studio work better than complex rendering.
- The M5 Max lists Wi-Fi 7, four Thunderbolt 5 ports, and support for up to five displays, but exact memory and storage configurations are unspecified.
| renewed mac studio desktop | Unified memory | Storage | Chip |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Mac Studio with M3 Ultra | 256GB | 2TB SSD | Apple M3 Ultra |
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | 128GB | 2TB SSD | Apple M4 Max |
| Apple 2022 Mac Studio with M1 | 64GB | 1TB SSD | — |
| Apple Mac Studio Desktop Compu | Up to 128GB | — | Apple M5 Max |
| Apple Mac Studio | — | 1TB SSD | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Apple Mac Studio with M3 Ultra, 28-Core CPU, 60-Core GPU, 256GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD
The M3 Ultra configuration is the most capable choice on paper for work that can use unusually large shared memory. Its 256GB unified memory and 2TB SSD create substantially more headroom than the M4 Max’s 128GB and the 2022 M1 Ultra’s 64GB. A 28-core CPU and 60-core GPU further distinguish it from the M1 Max, which is a more modest option for everyday creative work.
That capacity has a specific audience: professionals handling large projects, complex visual effects, or memory-hungry computational tasks. It is not automatically the right choice for a photographer or editor whose workload fits comfortably within the M4 Max’s stated 128GB. And for a guide focused on renewed desktops, there is a major information gap: the listing details supplied do not say that this unit is renewed, or provide an inspection process, condition grade, or return window. I would verify those details before treating it as a renewed option. It also requires a separate display and peripherals.
Pros:- 256GB unified memory is the largest stated capacity in this group
- 28-core CPU and 60-core GPU target demanding workloads
- 2TB SSD offers more stated local storage than either 2022 renewed model
- Thunderbolt 5, HDMI 2.1, USB 3, and 10Gb Ethernet are listed
Cons:- The supplied listing does not confirm renewed condition or describe inspection and return terms
- Requires a separate display and peripherals
- Its large memory capacity may be unnecessary for many creative and office workflows
Best for: Professionals whose large visual, 3D, or computational workloads can benefit from 256GB unified memory and a 60-core GPU.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need confirmed renewal terms, simpler everyday computing, or an explicitly stated lower-memory configuration.
- Chip:Apple M3 Ultra
- CPU:28-core
- GPU:60-core
- Unified memory:256GB
- Storage:2TB SSD
- Connectivity:Thunderbolt 5, USB 3, HDMI 2.1, 10Gb Ethernet
Our verdict“I rank this first for buyers with genuinely memory-intensive work, provided they verify its condition and renewal status with the seller.”
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-Core CPU, 40-Core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD
The M4 Max with 128GB unified memory is the balanced professional pick: it keeps a large memory pool and 2TB SSD while stepping below the M3 Ultra’s 256GB. That distinction matters if your projects are demanding but do not need the biggest memory configuration in this lineup. Its 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU are specified, and Thunderbolt 5 adds a current high-bandwidth connection option.
Compared with the 2022 M1 Ultra, this listing pairs a newer named chip with twice the stated memory and twice the SSD capacity. The M1 Ultra, however, is explicitly described as renewed and comes with a 90-day replacement or refund eligibility window; no such condition or return information appears here. Since the title promises renewed desktops, that omission is significant. I would confirm whether the exact unit is renewed and what condition terms apply before selecting it on that basis. Like the M3 Ultra, it also needs a separate display and peripherals.
Pros:- 128GB unified memory is a substantial stated capacity for complex projects
- 2TB SSD doubles the storage listed for the two 2022 renewed models
- 40-core GPU and 16-core CPU are specified
- Thunderbolt 5 is included
Cons:- The supplied information does not identify this unit as renewed
- No inspection, cosmetic-condition, accessory, or return details are provided
- Requires a separate display and peripherals
Best for: Creative professionals who want 128GB memory, 2TB storage, and Thunderbolt 5 without choosing the lineup’s largest stated memory configuration.
Not ideal for: Buyers requiring clearly documented renewed condition or those whose workloads specifically need the M3 Ultra’s 256GB memory.
- Chip:Apple M4 Max
- CPU:16-core
- GPU:40-core
- Unified memory:128GB
- Storage:2TB SSD
- Connectivity:Thunderbolt 5
- Enclosure:7.7-inch square
Our verdict“I would choose the M4 Max for demanding work that fits within 128GB, after confirming that the specific listing meets my renewal requirements.”
Apple 2022 Mac Studio with M1 Ultra, 20-Core CPU, 48-Core GPU, 64GB Unified Memory, 1TB SSD (Renewed)
For a buyer who puts confirmed renewed status ahead of the newest chip, this 2022 M1 Ultra is the clearest fit in the group. Its 20-core CPU, 48-core GPU, 64GB unified memory, and 1TB SSD make it a substantial workstation configuration. The seller description says it has been professionally inspected, tested, and cleaned, and that it shows no visible imperfections at arm’s length. It is also eligible for a replacement or refund within 90 days of receipt.
The configuration sits between the M1 Max’s 32GB and the newer M4 Max’s 128GB, while the M3 Ultra reaches 256GB. That makes this a sensible middle path for creative work that benefits from an Ultra chip but does not demand the latest listed memory ceiling. Its tradeoffs are just as concrete: it is pre-owned and not Apple-certified, accessories may be compatible non-original items, and packaging may be generic. Compared with the M4 Max and M3 Ultra listings, its chip generation is older and its memory and storage are smaller; compared with the M1 Max, it has the larger CPU, GPU, and memory configuration.
Pros:- Explicitly listed as renewed and professionally inspected, tested, and cleaned
- 20-core CPU and 48-core GPU make it more substantial than the M1 Max configuration
- 64GB unified memory and a 1TB SSD are specified
- Replacement or refund eligibility within 90 days of receipt is stated
Cons:- Pre-owned and not Apple-certified
- Compatible accessories may be non-original and packaging may be generic
- Its M1 generation has less stated memory and storage than the M4 Max and M3 Ultra options
Best for: Buyers seeking a clearly identified renewed Mac Studio with an Ultra chip, 64GB memory, stated inspection, and a 90-day remedy window.
Not ideal for: People who need the newest listed chip, more than 64GB memory, or Apple-certified renewal and original accessories.
- Model:Apple Mac Studio (2022)
- Processor:Apple M1 Ultra, 20-core CPU
- Graphics:48-core GPU
- Unified memory:64GB
- Storage:1TB SSD
- Condition:Renewed; professionally inspected, tested, and cleaned
- Return eligibility:Replacement or refund within 90 days of receipt
Our verdict“I rank this as the safest match to the renewed Mac Studio brief when a documented inspection process matters more than a newer chip.”
Apple Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max
The M5 Max Mac Studio is the lineup’s clearest fit for a desk built around several screens and current wireless connections. The listing states support for up to five external displays, four Thunderbolt 5 ports, Wi-Fi 7, and Bluetooth 6. It also names USB-C, USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, and headphone connections, a useful range for a workspace with varied peripherals and media cards.
Against the M4 Max, this option has broader stated display support and newer named wireless standards, but the M4 listing is much clearer about its exact CPU, GPU, memory, and storage. Here, memory is only “up to 128GB,” and storage is not specified. That makes it difficult to compare the actual unit or judge whether its configuration suits a particular project. The supplied description also does not establish renewed condition or describe inspection and return terms. I would verify both the exact memory/storage and the renewal details before choosing it. A quiet thermal system and compact enclosure are noted, but buyers still need to supply a display and peripherals.
Pros:- Supports up to five external displays according to the listing
- Four Thunderbolt 5 ports plus USB-C, USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, and headphone connections
- Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6 are listed
- Compact design with a quiet thermal system is described
Cons:- Exact memory configuration is not specified; only an up-to-128GB maximum is given
- Storage capacity is not stated
- Renewal status, inspection, and return terms are not provided
- Requires a separate display and peripherals
Best for: Buyers planning a multi-display desk who value Thunderbolt 5 connectivity and Wi-Fi 7, and can confirm the exact configuration before purchase.
Not ideal for: Renewed-only shoppers who need a documented condition process, or anyone who needs known storage and memory specifications upfront.
- Chip:Apple M5 Max
- Unified memory:Up to 128GB
- Memory bandwidth:Up to 614GB/s
- Thunderbolt:Four Thunderbolt 5 ports
- Other ports:2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, HDMI, SDXC card slot, headphone jack
- External displays:Up to 5
- Wireless:Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6
- Dimensions and weight:7.76 x 7.76 x 3.74 inches; 5.94 pounds
Our verdict“I would shortlist the M5 Max for a multi-screen workstation, but only after confirming its exact memory, storage, and renewed condition.”
Apple Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Max, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed)
The 2022 M1 Max is the straightforward choice for someone who wants a compact desktop for creative and general professional work but does not need the M1 Ultra’s larger configuration. It has a 10-core CPU, 24-core GPU, 32GB memory, and a 1TB SSD. Compared with the M1 Ultra, it halves the stated memory and reduces the CPU and GPU core counts, so it is less suited to projects that benefit from the bigger configuration. For less demanding work, those differences may be an acceptable tradeoff.
Its renewed description gives the same basic assurance as the M1 Ultra listing: professional inspection, testing, and cleaning, plus replacement or refund eligibility within 90 days. Accessories may be non-original and packaging generic, so it is not the same as a new or Apple-certified unit. The supplied specs list macOS High Sierra, an unusual operating-system detail for this product description. I would ask the seller to verify the installed system and configuration before ordering. The M1 Ultra is the stronger renewed workstation pick; this M1 Max makes more sense for buyers who do not need that additional headroom.
Pros:- Explicitly listed as renewed and professionally inspected, tested, and cleaned
- 10-core CPU and 24-core GPU are specified
- 32GB memory and 1TB SSD provide a clear configuration
- Replacement or refund eligibility within 90 days is stated
Cons:- Less memory and fewer CPU/GPU cores than the M1 Ultra option
- Not Apple-certified; accessories may be non-original and packaging generic
- The supplied operating-system field says macOS High Sierra and should be verified
Best for: A buyer who wants a renewed Mac Studio for moderate creative work, office tasks, and a specified 1TB SSD without the M1 Ultra configuration.
Not ideal for: Users with large 3D, visual-effects, or computational workloads, or anyone unwilling to verify the unusual operating-system detail.
- Model:Apple Mac Studio (2022)
- Processor:Apple M1 Max, 10-core CPU
- Graphics:24-core GPU
- Memory:32GB
- Storage:1TB SSD
- Color:Silver
- Dimensions and weight:10 x 7.7 x 3.7 inches; 5.9 pounds
- Operating system:macOS High Sierra listed; verify with seller
Our verdict“I would choose the M1 Max for less demanding work when its confirmed renewed status matters more than the M1 Ultra’s extra capacity.”

How We Picked
I judged these options against the specific needs of someone searching for a renewed Mac Studio: how much useful capacity the configuration states, how clearly the condition and seller process are described, and whether the hardware has a distinct workload advantage over another option here. The two 2022 products explicitly say they are renewed and describe professional inspection, compatible accessories, and 90-day replacement or refund eligibility. Those details make their condition easier to evaluate, although they are not Apple-certified according to the supplied information.
The other three listings describe M4 Max, M3 Ultra, and M5 Max configurations, but their supplied details do not establish that they are renewed. I still include them because they appear in the requested comparison, while calling out that mismatch rather than treating newness or renewal as confirmed. I rank them by their stated capabilities and buyer fit, not by assumptions about performance benchmarks. Memory capacity, chip family, storage, ports, and display support all affect what work a desktop can accommodate; a larger number alone does not make a model a better purchase for every buyer.
I also account for missing information. The M1 Max listing’s operating-system field says macOS High Sierra, an unusual detail for a Mac Studio that a buyer should verify with the seller. The M5 Max listing gives memory only as “up to 128GB” and does not name storage capacity. These uncertainties matter in a renewed-desktop decision because the exact configuration and condition should be clear before committing. I treat each model’s pros and cons as specific to the provided listing, without inferring unlisted benchmarks, accessories, or warranty terms.
| renewed mac studio desktop | Chip |
|---|---|
| Apple Mac Studio with M3 Ultra | Apple M3 Ultra |
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | Apple M4 Max |
| Apple 2022 Mac Studio with M1 | — |
| Apple Mac Studio Desktop Compu | Apple M5 Max |
| Apple Mac Studio | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Renewed Mac Studio Desktops
I would start with two questions: do you need a unit whose renewed condition is described, and how much memory does your actual work require? The answers separate the 2022 M1 listings from the newer-chip configurations and help avoid choosing a large specification that your workflow will not use.Confirm what “renewed” means for this listing
Only the M1 Ultra and M1 Max listings explicitly say they are renewed and describe professional inspection, testing, and cleaning. Both mention possible non-original compatible accessories and generic packaging, and both state eligibility for replacement or refund within 90 days of receipt. They are not described as Apple-certified. The M3 Ultra, M4 Max, and M5 Max information supplied here does not confirm renewed status, inspection, or return terms. If renewal is a firm requirement, verify those points for the exact listing and unit before buying.
Match memory to project size
Memory capacity is one of the clearest differences in this group: 32GB on the M1 Max, 64GB on the M1 Ultra, 128GB on the M4 Max, up to 128GB on the M5 Max, and 256GB on the M3 Ultra. Larger projects, complex effects, or computational tasks may benefit from more headroom, but a higher ceiling does not make every workflow faster. For a buyer who knows 64GB is enough, the M1 Ultra has explicit renewed terms. For work that needs more, the M4 Max and M3 Ultra list larger capacities, though renewal details are absent.
Check storage and connectivity, not just the chip name
The M1 Max and M1 Ultra each specify a 1TB SSD, while the M4 Max and M3 Ultra specify 2TB. The M5 Max listing leaves storage unspecified, so confirm the exact configuration. Connectivity also varies in the supplied details: Thunderbolt 5 is named for the M4 Max and M3 Ultra, while the M5 Max lists four Thunderbolt 5 ports, several other port types, and support for up to five displays. The 2022 listings do not provide a port breakdown here; check the exact model if your display or storage setup depends on specific connections.
Account for the rest of the desk
These are desktop computers, not all-in-one systems. The M4 Max and M3 Ultra descriptions explicitly say buyers need a separate display and peripherals, and the M5 Max listing makes the same requirement clear. Budget space for a screen, keyboard, pointing device, and any needed adapters or external drives. The M5 Max’s stated display support can appeal to a multi-screen workstation, but that is useful only if the exact configuration and renewal terms suit your needs.
Resolve listing inconsistencies before purchase
Two details merit direct confirmation. The M1 Max entry lists macOS High Sierra, an unusual field for a Mac Studio listing, so ask what system is installed and whether it can be updated as needed. The M5 Max gives memory only as “up to 128GB” and omits storage capacity; those are not exact unit specifications. For every renewed device, check that the listing’s configuration, condition, included accessories, and return terms match what you expect.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which option is the clearest confirmed renewed Mac Studio?
The 2022 M1 Ultra and M1 Max listings explicitly identify the computers as renewed and describe professional inspection, testing, and cleaning. Each also states replacement or refund eligibility within 90 days of receipt. The M1 Ultra has the larger stated configuration, with 64GB memory and a 48-core GPU; the M1 Max lists 32GB and a 24-core GPU. Neither is described as Apple-certified, and accessories may be non-original.
Which configuration has the most unified memory?
The M3 Ultra listing specifies 256GB unified memory, more than any other exact capacity in this group. The M4 Max specifies 128GB, while the M5 Max is described as configurable up to 128GB without naming the memory in the exact unit. Whether 256GB is useful depends on your workload; buyers should not choose it solely because it is the largest figure.
Is the M1 Max a sensible alternative to the M1 Ultra?
It can be, if your work fits the M1 Max’s stated 32GB memory, 10-core CPU, and 24-core GPU. The M1 Ultra doubles the listed memory and has a larger CPU and GPU core count, making it the stronger fit for heavier projects. Both are described as renewed with inspection and 90-day replacement or refund eligibility. Ask the M1 Max seller to clarify the macOS High Sierra field before ordering.
Are the M3 Ultra, M4 Max, and M5 Max listings confirmed as renewed?
The supplied descriptions do not say that these three listings are renewed or provide an inspection process, cosmetic condition, or return terms. Their inclusion here lets you compare stated configurations, but it does not confirm their condition. If renewed status matters to you, verify it directly for the exact unit before purchase. The 2022 M1 listings provide clearer renewal information.
What else do I need to use a Mac Studio?
You need a separate display and desktop peripherals such as a keyboard and pointing device. The M4 Max, M3 Ultra, and M5 Max descriptions specifically call out the need for a separate display and peripherals. You may also need external storage, cables, or adapters depending on your setup. Check the exact listing’s included accessories and ports, especially for the 2022 renewed models where a full port list is not included in the supplied details.
Conclusion
For a buyer who prioritizes clearly stated renewed condition and substantial capacity, I recommend the 2022 M1 Ultra: it has 64GB memory, a 1TB SSD, a described inspection process, and a stated 90-day remedy window. Choose the M1 Max if 32GB is adequate for your work and you want a less extensive 2022 configuration, after verifying its operating-system detail. If your projects need more memory, the M4 Max offers a specified 128GB and 2TB SSD, while the M3 Ultra is the fit for workloads that can use 256GB. For a multi-display desk, the M5 Max lists the broadest display support, but I would first confirm its exact memory, storage, and renewed status. Each choice makes sense for a different workload; match the unit’s verified condition and configuration to yours.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.








