TL;DR
Get furniture and decor delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Southern Garden Centers has acquired Hutto’s Home and Garden Center in Jackson, Mississippi, making it the first location in the company’s independent garden-center platform. Hutto’s is expected to keep its name, location, team and current hours, while receiving investment in technology, inventory systems, facilities and purchasing capacity.
Southern Garden Centers has acquired Hutto’s Home and Garden Center in Jackson, Mississippi, bringing the nearly 60-year-old retailer into a new independent garden-center platform. Hutto’s will remain at its current location under its existing name and with the same team, while the new owner plans to invest in its systems, facilities and purchasing capacity.
Southern Garden Centers said Hutto’s will serve as the founding location of its platform, which aims to partner with established, family-owned garden centers across the Southeast. The company says the arrangement gives Hutto’s access to capital, shared services, purchasing scale, technology and operating infrastructure, while retaining its local identity and customer-facing team.
Planned investments include upgrades to inventory systems, point-of-sale technology and facilities, as well as expanded purchasing power with growers and suppliers. Southern Garden Centers also says its support will create career advancement opportunities for Hutto’s employees. The company said customers can expect the same hours and customer support team; additional investments are due to be rolled out over the coming months.
The announcement follows decades of family ownership. Southern Garden Centers said the Hutto family chose to work with the company to provide the business with resources for long-term growth. The source report does not disclose the transaction’s price, financing or other financial terms.
Investment Without a Store Rebrand
The deal combines the resources of a larger platform with the continued operation of a long-established local retailer. For Hutto’s, the stated changes are aimed mainly at behind-the-scenes capacity—technology, inventory management, facilities and supplier purchasing—rather than a change to its storefront identity or staff.
For customers, the immediate significance is continuity: Southern Garden Centers says Hutto’s will keep its name, location, team and current hours. The longer-term effects of new systems and investment are not yet detailed. The company’s approach also offers a model for how its planned regional platform may work: central support and capital paired with each garden center’s existing local identity.
Products Worth Considering

Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit (2nd Gen) Home Security System

Ring Alarm 5-Piece Wireless Security System

Ring Alarm 14-Piece Wireless Security System Kit
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Nearly 60-Year Jackson Retailer
Hutto’s Home and Garden Center has served the Jackson community for nearly six decades. Owner Billy Hutto said his family had run the business since 1968, describing its customers as close to the family. The company’s announcement presents the sale as a way to support the store’s future while keeping the features its owners believe have made it a community fixture.
Southern Garden Centers describes itself as a platform focused on partnering with established, family-owned garden centers across the Southeast. It says participating stores will receive shared services and growth capital, alongside a long-term commitment to preserving local identity. Hutto’s is identified as the platform’s first location; the announcement does not name other participating stores.
“When it came time to think about the future, we wanted a company that understood what Hutto’s means to this community and who had the resources to help it grow without losing what makes it special.”
— Billy Hutto, owner of Hutto’s Home and Garden Center
Financial Terms and Rollout Details
The announcement does not disclose the purchase price, transaction structure or closing date. It also does not give a timetable or budget for the planned technology, inventory and facilities work beyond saying additional investments will be rolled out over the coming months.
Southern Garden Centers has not identified other garden centers that may join its platform or provided targets for its regional expansion. While the company says Hutto’s will retain its current team and customer experience, the announcement does not specify whether staffing, services or store operations could change as upgrades proceed.
Store Upgrades Over Coming Months
Southern Garden Centers says additional investments at Hutto’s will roll out over the coming months. The next visible developments are expected to include improvements to store systems and facilities, although the company has not provided a project-by-project schedule.
For now, the stated customer-facing plan is for Hutto’s to continue operating at its existing Jackson location with its current name, team and hours. Further details about the transaction or the platform’s plans may clarify the scale of investment and whether other independent garden centers will join.
Key Questions
Who acquired Hutto’s Home and Garden Center?
Southern Garden Centers acquired the Jackson, Mississippi, retailer, according to the company’s announcement.
Will Hutto’s change its name or location?
No immediate change was announced. Hutto’s is expected to remain at its current location and operate under the Hutto’s name.
Will the store keep its current team and hours?
Southern Garden Centers said Hutto’s will retain the same team and current hours. The announcement did not provide details about possible future operational changes.
What investments are planned for Hutto’s?
The company cited upgrades to inventory systems, point-of-sale technology and facilities, along with greater purchasing power and career opportunities for employees. Additional investments are expected over the coming months.
How much did Southern Garden Centers pay?
The purchase price and other financial terms were not disclosed in the announcement.
Source: hardwareretailing.com
